Sale

Light from Other Stars

Bloomsbury Publishing
SKU:
9781635575095
|
UPC:
9781635575095
$18.00 $17.00
(No reviews yet)
Condition:
New
Usually Ships in 24hrs
Current Stock:

Out of stock

Out of Stock
A Long Island Reads 2020 Selection * A Real Simple Best Book of 2019 From the bestselling author of The Book of Speculation, a “tender and ambitious” (Vulture) novel about time, loss, and the wonders of the universe. Eleven-year-old Nedda Papas is obsessed with becoming an astronaut. In 1986 in Easter, a small Florida Space Coast town, her dreams seem almost within reach--if she can just grow up fast enough. Theo, the scientist father she idolizes, is consumed by his own obsessions. Laid off from his job at NASA and still reeling from the loss of Nedda's newborn brother several years before, Theo turns to the dangerous dream of extending his daughter's childhood just a little longer. The result is an invention that alters the fabric of time. Decades later, Nedda has achieved her long-held dream and is traveling aboard the space ship Chawla, part of a small group hoping to colonize a distant planet. But as she floats in zero gravity, far from earth, she and her crewmates face a serious crisis. Nedda may hold the key to the solution, if she can come to terms with her past and the future that awaits her. For fans of The Age of Miracles and The Immortalists, Erika Swyler's Light from Other Stars is a masterful and ambitious novel about fathers and daughters, women and the forces that hold them back, and the true meaning of progress.


  • | Author: Erika Swyler
  • | Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
  • | Publication Date: May 05, 2020
  • | Number of Pages: 320 pages
  • | Language: English
  • | Binding: Paperback
  • | ISBN-10: 1635575095
  • | ISBN-13: 9781635575095
Author:
Erika Swyler
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication Date:
May 05, 2020
Number of pages:
320 pages
Language:
English
Binding:
Paperback
ISBN-10:
1635575095
ISBN-13:
9781635575095