Sale

Three Girls From Bronzeville: A Uniquely Amerion Memoir Of Race, Fate, And Sisterhood - 9781982107710

Simon & Schuster
SKU:
9781982107710
|
UPC:
9781982107710
$17.99 $16.99
(No reviews yet)
Condition:
New
Usually Ships in 24hrs
Current Stock:
Estimated Delivery by: | Fastest delivery by:
Adding to cart… The item has been added
A New York Times and Washington Post Notable Book A Best Book of 2021 by BuzzFeed and Real Simple An “unmissable” (Vogue), “exceptional” (The Washington Post), and “evocative” (Chicago Tribune) memoir about three Black girls from the storied Bronzeville section of Chicago that offers a penetrating exploration of race, opportunity, friendship, sisterhood, and the powerful forces at work that allow some to flourish…and others to falter. They were three Black girls. Dawn, tall and studious; her sister, Kim, younger by three years and headstrong as they come; and her best friend, Debra, already prom-queen pretty by third grade. They bonded—fervently and intensely in that unique way of little girls—as they roamed the concrete landscape of Bronzeville, a historic neighborhood on Chicago’s South Side, the destination of hundreds of thousands of Black folks who fled the ravages of the Jim Crow South. These third-generation daughters of the Great Migration come of age in the 1970s, in the warm glow of the recent civil rights movement. It has offered them a promise, albeit nascent and fragile, that they will have more opportunities, rights, and freedoms than any generation of Black Americans in history. Their working-class, striving parents are eager for them to realize this hard-fought potential. But the girls have much more immediate concerns: hiding under the dining room table and eavesdropping on grown folks’ business; collecting secret treasures; and daydreaming about their futures—Dawn and Debra, doctors, Kim a teacher. For a brief, wondrous moment the girls are all giggles and dreams and promises of “friends forever.” And then fate intervenes, first slowly and then dramatically, sending them careening in wildly different directions. There’s heartbreak, loss, displacement, and even murder. Dawn struggles to make sense of the shocking turns that consume her sister and her best friend, all the while asking herself a simple but profound question: Why? In the vein of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, Three Girls from Bronzeville is a “deeply personal” (Real Simple) memoir that chronicles Dawn’s attempt to find answers. It’s at once a celebration of sisterhood and friendship, a testimony to the unique struggles of Black women, and a tour-de-force about the complex interplay of race, class, and opportunity, and how those forces shape our lives and our capacity for resilience and redemption.


  • | Author: Dawn Turner
  • | Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • | Publication Date: Jun 07, 2022
  • | Number of Pages: 336 pages
  • | Language: English
  • | Binding: Paperback/Biography & Autobiography
  • | ISBN-10: 1982107715
  • | ISBN-13: 9781982107710
Author:
Dawn Turner
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Publication Date:
Jun 07, 2022
Number of pages:
336 pages
Language:
English
Binding:
Paperback/Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-10:
1982107715
ISBN-13:
9781982107710